Disk Erase Options

The Erase Preferences tab allows for users to configure settings for the KillDisk erase procedures.

Figure: Erase options dialog

Select entire disk
Entire surface of the disk will be erased
Select exact area
Allows you to use the sliders on the visualization of your disk to select a particular range of sectors for erasure. You may also click on individual partitions and the selected individual partitions will be erased.
Erase method
One of many internationally recognized erase methods supported by KillDisk.
Erase verification
Percentage of disk to be verified after disk was erased.
Initialize after erase
Formats the disk to be ready to use after erasure.
Write fingerprint

This feature will write the specified fingerprint to the first sector of the erased drive. If a machine is booted from this drive, the user will see this fingerprint as a message on the screen.

Erase confirmation
As a safety precaution to prevent accidental destruction of hard drives, KillDisk has the user type a keyphrase before the erase procedure is initiated (Figure 3.1.6). By default this precaution is set with the keyphrase "ERASE-ALL-DATA". This keyphrase can be modified, set as a randomly generated set of characters, or disabled in these settings.

Figure: Sensitive action confirmation dialog

Also see Report Options for information about erase report.