Disk Wipe

When you select a physical device such as Fixed Disk0, the wipe command processes all logical drives consecutively, deleting data in unoccupied areas. Unallocated space (where no partition exists) has been erased as well. If KillDisk detects that a partition has been damaged or that it is not safe to proceed, KillDisk does not wipe data in that area. The reason it does not proceed is that a damaged partition might contain important data.

There are some cases where partitions on a device cannot be wiped. Some examples are an unknown or unsupported file system, a system volume, or an application start up drive. In these cases the Wipe button is disabled. If you select a device and the Wipe button is disabled, select individual partitions (drives) and wipe them separately.

If you want to erase data from the hard drive device permanently, see Disk Erase.

  1. Select the device to wipe in the disk explorer view. You may select multiple devices to be wiped out simultaneously
  2. Click the Wipe toolbar button to wipe out all data in unoccupied sectors on the disk or one of its' partitions.

    Figure: Initiating the Wipe operation

  3. Confirm Wipe options
    Use tabbed views to adjust disk wipe options if necessary. Available options:

    Figure: Selecting an an erase algorithm for the wipe

  4. Select the areas of the disks to be wiped. With individual disks you may select individual partitions.
  5. Click Ok to advance to the final step before erasing data. The progress of the wiping procedure will be monitored in the Disk Wiping screen.
    To stop the process for any reason, click the stop button for a particular disk. Click the stop all button to cancel wiping for all selected disks. Note that all existing applications and data will not be touched. Data that has been wiped from unoccupied sectors is not recoverable.
  6. Optional: Select the wiped partition and press ENTER or double-click it to inspect the work that has been done.
    KillDisk scans the system records or the root records of the partition. The Folders and Files tab appears. Existing file names and folder names appear with a multi-colored icon and deleted file names and folder names appear with a gray-colored icon. If the wiping process completed correctly, the data residue in these deleted file clusters and the place these files hold in the directory records or system records has been removed. You should not see any grey-colored file names or folder names in the wiped partition.
You will see a confirmation dialog when the process is complete, where you may and print an Erase Certificate
Note: If there are any errors, for example due to bad clusters, they will be reported on the Interactive screen and in the Log. If such a message appears, you may cancel the operation or continue wiping data.